Klang der Sterne
Sound of the Universe

Sonification of historical astro photo discs

Deutsche Fassung

Coding Da Vinci Nord Award in the category Most unusual use of data

German astronomical observatories own considerable collection of photographic plates. While these photos lead to significant discoveries in the past, they are also of interest for scientists today and in the future. The photos have been scanned and made accesible under a CC0 Creative Commons license by the Leipnitz Institute for Astrophysics in Potsdam.

The idea behind Klang der Sterne / Sound of the Universe is to take the historical measurements as input source for sonification. Listen to the sound of the universe!

The following example is about an eclipsing binary in the constallation Cygnus. The two stars are dancing around each other in 1 day, 9 hours and 24 minutes. During the eclipse the brightness drops a little bit, which has been measured on 1.152 individual photos between 1923 and 1981. The first radio station maps to the dates when the photos have been taken. Then all the data is aggregated to a single rotation of the stars, which has been sonified with this wonderful ancient radio-telescope.

Video Prototype

Klang der Sterne Video-Prototyp

Audio Experiments

1

V466 Cyg: 60 years of measuring the brightness. Sonification mit Sonic Pi

2

V466 Cyg: 60 years of measuring the brightness. Sonification with MetaSynth

3

V466 Cyg: all brightness values mapped to one period of 1.39156629 days. During the 4 repetitions you can hear 8 dark hummings. These are the eclipes. Sonification with MetaSynth

4

Experiment #4 is a sonification of 2 eclipsing binaries. The left channel of the stereo track is GG Cyg with a period of 2.0084 days – on the right channel we have our dear friend V466 Cyg. This time the hight notes are the eclipse. Sonification mit Sonic Pi.

5

This is an experiment with 4 tracks. Once again the left channel is triggered by GG Cyg – and V466 Cyg is playing on the right. The chronological ordered brightness measurements are used to play a modified piano sample. Below you can hear the phases like in the previous example #3.

Team

The design and sonification team works under the framework of Coding Da Vinci Nord:

Check the Im research log for more info on eclipsing binaries, the open astro database, and last not least the development of the radio telescope.

Feedback – please leave a message

comments powered by Disqus

Klang der Sterne

Sonifikation historisch astronomischer Photoplatten

English version

Coding Da Vinci Nord Gewinner in der Kategorie Most unusual use of data

Das Projekt Klang der Sterne arbeitet mit Astrofotografien der Hamburger Sternwarte und mit Bildern des Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam. Das Leipnitz-Institut hat die Bildplatten digitalisiert und unter einer Creative Commons Lizenz frei zugänglich gemacht. Die Idee ist die Messdaten zu sonifizieren, also in gewissem Sinne die Struktur des Universums hörbar zu machen.

In diesem konkreten Beispiel geht es um ein Doppelsternsystem in Sternbild Schwan, dessen beide Sterne mit einer Periode von 1 Tag, 9 Stunden und 24 Minuten umeinander kreisen. Dabei verdecken sie sich zweimal und werden daher aus unserer Sicht kurzfristig dunkler. In der APPLAUSE-Datenbank des Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam gibt es zu diesem Sternsystem 1152 Helligkeitsmessungen zwischen 1923 und 1981. Der erste Sender entspricht den Aufnahme-Zeiten. Wenn man alle Umläufe dieser 60 Jahre übereinander legt, kann man die Helligkeitsschwankungen in diesem wundervollen alten Radio-Teleskop hörbar machen.

Video-Prototyp

Klang der Sterne Video-Prototyp

Audio-Experimente

1

V466 Cyg (im Schwan): 60 Jahre Helligkeitsmessungen chronologisch sortiert. Sonifikation mit Sonic Pi

2

V466 Cyg (im Schwan): 60 Jahre Helligkeitsmessungen beschleunigt auf 17 Jahre pro Sekunde. Sonifikation mit MetaSynth

3

V466 Cyg: Alle Helligkeitsmessungen der 60 Jahre in Phase zu 1.39156629 Tagen gebracht. Innerhalb der 4 Wiederholungen gibt es somit 8 Verdekungen, die als tiefes Brummen zu hören sind. Sonifikation mit MetaSynth

4

Das Audio-Experiment Nr.4 nutzt gleich 2 Doppelsternsysteme. Im linken Kanal ist GG Cyg mit einer Phase von 2,0084 Tagen zu hören – im rechten Kanal spielt unser guter Freund V466 Cyg mit einer Phasenlänge von 1,39156629 Tagen. Die Verdekungen sind diesmal als hohe Töne zu erkennen. Sonifikation mit Sonic Pi

5

Hier ist ein 4-Spur-Experiment. Im linken Kanal GG Cyg mit einem präparierten Klavier und darunter die Phase. Im rechten Kanal liefert V466 Cyg die Daten für das präparierte Klavier. Darunter ist ebenfalls die Phase zu hören, wie sie schon im vorigen Beispiel von Sonic Pi errechnet wurde.

Team

An der Sonifikation und Umsetzung des Projektes arbeiten im Rahmen von Coding Da Vinci Nord:

Im Forschungstagebuch zu Klang der Sterne gibt es weitere Informationen zu den sonifizierten Doppelsternen, der Astro-Datenbank, sowie zur Entwicklung des Radio-Teleskops.

Blog-Echo

Tweets

cdvnord: Nochmals allerherzlichsten Dank an alle unsere Teilnehmer*innen und Glückwünsche an die Preisträger!

Feedback – please leave a message

comments powered by Disqus